My Son’s Reading Journey

Dino Cajic
5 min readJan 9, 2022

I’ve finally decided to use my dining room for something other than just a piece that we look at. I told my wife, “in 3 to 4 years, I want this dining room to be completely destroyed from usage.” It was an expensive set that we purchased years ago and it sits there as a decoration while we utilize our breakfast room to eat out of.

Well no more. We placed some table covers and converted our dining room into a reading area. The table is the perfect height to place a book on and read/study from. The dining room is open on two sides, one of the sides looking into our foyer and the other going towards the small hallway that connects the kitchen to the garage. There’s a large window that looks outside allowing for plenty of natural light to come in but most importantly, there’s a wall that separates our living room from it. That removes the TV from the list of potential interruptions.

The dining room is supposed to bring the family together while you eat, free from distractions. We’re bringing the family together throughout the day but with a focus on learning.

The questions that I kept asking myself are:

  • How do I make learning entertaining for my son?
  • How do I make learning entertaining for him even when I’m not present?
  • How do I set him up for success in the future?

--

--

Dino Cajic

Author of An Illustrative Introduction to Algorithms. IT Leader with a B.S. in Computer Science, a minor in Biology, and a passion for learning.